Posted by: cameronmarch | September 8, 2008

Is It Time to Panic Yet?!?

Since Friday evening, I’ve developed a new motto which should probably serve me well for the next indeterminite number of years:  “Sanity is best left to other people.”  Yep, that’s right – since Friday, I’ve received my crash course in Parenting 2 Under 2: 101.  Steve’s mom left Friday evening, a few days early – because of Hurricane Hanna, she had to get back to Norfolk before the storm hit.  Boo!  So Steve and I were on our own for the entire weekend.  We actually managed fairly well – we mainly played some one-on-one with Steve taking Jack and me taking Jane (who, by the way, has been feeding pretty much every hour for the past 4 days and is now over 7 lbs.).  Nights were not fun, but not torture since Steve got Jack up in the morning and let me catch a little extra sleep with Jane.

However, this morning I was thrown into the deep end, as Steve had to get up early to head into work.  For the WHOLE day.  So, for the first time, I had both the monster and the mouse by myself for an entire day.  It actually wasn’t that bad, but I think Jack got a little bored at times.  We stayed inside most of the day, except when we ventured out for a walk with Jack in his little car and Jane in the Hotsling (which I don’t think I had on correctly because she almost fell out the side a couple of times).  Steve came home for about 2 hours to play with Jack and help do his bath before he headed out on a late flight to Boston.  Yes, that’s right.  Jane made it to almost 3 weeks before Daddy had to go away on a business trip, leaving me to fend for myself with both kids.  To say the situation is scary is a bit of an understatement.

So, now, here I am.  Alone in the house with the monster and the mouse for the next 24 hours and 30 minutes. 

If nobody hears from me by Wednesday morning… send reinforcements.

Today’s Show Tune: Les Miserables: On My Own


Responses

  1. Are you doing OK? Good for you for braving a whole day. I have my kids in school now. Please let me help if I can.


Leave a comment

Categories